Bystander Effect

SL2056

 

Relationships can be complicated for sure. The way different couples deal with their problems is very interesting.

Just today, I was sitting at a coffee shop drinking my usual cappuccino when a couple walked in front of me and started to fight.  It was a very peculiar fight and the way they dealt with it was definitely immature. I started to wonder, if getting into relationships was so easy and nasty, why haven’t I ever experienced anything like that?

So this is what happened:

Boy: “Give me MY phone back!!!”

Girl: “No, (She starts running around) don’t worry I wont check anything”

Boy: “Yes you will. Give me MY phone BACK!! NOW!”

Girl: NO NO
..There was a long 2 min fight after which the boy scratches the girl and takes his phone back!

I was a witness to this act. A lot of things went through my mind when this happened.

Firstly, I think it was extremely immature of the girl to take the boy’s phone to check his messages (probably suspecting he was cheating on her)

Secondly, the boy was a complete idiot who obviously doesn’t like her for who she is as he seemed to care more about the phone than his girlfriend. He was clearly hiding something. Something was definitely fishy.

Moreover, he SCRATCHED her! It’s something an animal would do! And it still happens in this day and age with couples! How ridiculous!

See what guilt can do?

It’s probably none of my business but it definitely spurred many thoughts in my brain regarding relationships, cheating, guilt and consequences. Moreover, I was a witness. It’s kind of the psychological bystander effect taking place here.

As a bystander, I followed the bystander effect, just finished my coffee quickly and left the coffee place silently, without interfering. To my surprise no one stopped the couple from fighting.

 

 

Leave a Reply

