The art of writing

I received a comment from one of my followers a few days ago basically saying that my posts are not as ‘great’ as they were before or not as engrossing. What has happened? He asked. So this post is in reply to that comment. The exact comment was “Hey, you used to write great – I miss your super writings. Past few posts are just a little bit out of track! come on!”

Well, first off thank you for saying that some of my writings were “super” but I really don’t know where I got lost in the jungle of writing to make you feel that I’ve been out of track. I’ll try my best to get my “super” writing gear on. But unfortunately, realistically I do not think there is such a thing.

Sure, writing can be planned in that the author can decide exactly what to write and when. But, the author writes for his/her own will and not for the will of the others. As much as it is difficult to tell you what happened to my writing style, I feel I have matured a lot in my writing these past few months since I started to write professionally. However, blogging is different to professional writing and something I still have a lot to learn from.

Writing is an art. It is a creative process. Many times it is unstable and fluctuating – a little like a stock market. So when you asked me what happened to my writing, why I haven’t been as creative as I was before, to be honest the answer is I do not know and I can only guess.

I write for my own pleasures. Writing makes me happy – any type of writing makes me happy even this blog post is making me happy. That’s not to say I do not care for feedback because I do – for my own possible improvement.

Many years ago I used to fear the thought of writing a blog post or the thought of writing as an art. It took me a lot of inner struggle to locate myself as a writer. It’s something I do not want to give up on. It’s a type of emancipation, liberating myself from the fear. Telling or rather proving to myself that I can. I constantly can. It’s a form, it’s a process. Like everything it takes time.

Writing, like many other things can be a tedious and mundane task if you’re unsure of what to write about. A little like I am now. I haven’t really dug deep into myself to answer your question – which I think will reveal the best answer. I have been writing professional articles which is basically based on research. However, I’m not well versed with blogging. I’m quite new. I need some inputs and tips on how to be better.

More importantly I need to learn what kind of material really goes out there, markets itself. What stories do people really like? What do they not like? Does a post making it to the desired popularity level lead to a higher quality? I doubt it, but like I said I write for my own pleasure.

Do feel free to express your thoughts in the comments section below or to give me some helpful tips and inputs. 

Leave a Reply

