Living for Today

This poem by Christina Georgina Rossetti really strikes a chord with me. A friend sent me this poem on Facebook telling me to “live life today” and it made me think…..

A Daughter of Eve

A fool I was to sleep at noon,
And wake when night is chilly
Beneath the comfortless cold moon;
A fool to pluck my rose too soon,
A fool to snap my lily.

My garden-plot I have not kept;
Faded and all-forsaken,
I weep as I have never wept:
Oh it was summer when I slept,
It’s winter now I waken.

Talk what you please of future spring
And sun-warm’d sweet to-morrow:
Stripp’d bare of hope and everything,
No more to laugh, no more to sing,
I sit alone with sorrow.

There are many themes which can be attributed to this poem – including time, patience, love, anxiety and many more. When we do not make the most of the moment in which we are living – like NOW – then time really starts to fall behind us and there is no way to relive the moments just lost.

Living in the future or the past will not help the present. It is what we make of NOW that really matters.

I hate to break it to you but I haven’t made the most of the time I have had. I wish I did. I wish I knew how much each moment means because then I would grab each and every opportunity I had. But one of the beautiful thing about life is it is unpredictable and destiny seems to have it’s own way of reminding us to take the path we are destined to take.

I hope we can all make the most of today and the moments we have. Living for the now and here rather than for anything else

 

 

Leave a Reply

