Bellow My Grief

This poem is in response to the short story called Misery by Anton Chekhov 

“To Whom Shall I Tell My Grief?”

Sorrow shimmers through his body

His son – his little baby calf – dead!

oh! What agony!

To lose a loved one is to repent a lifetime

If only someone would hear him bawl

Listen vehemently to his grief – his distress – his pain.

He would cry to the world

Curse at the cosmos

To acquire the wishful years lost;

For his only son to reappear in his arms again.

R.I.P – Kuzma Ionitch

One thought on “Bellow My Grief

Leave a Reply

